Do I need to report my car accident?
If you have been involved in a car accident, it could get very tricky when deciding what necessary steps you must take to make sure that you have exercised all your rights. In California, plaintiffs who have been involved in an accident must exercise their rights in order to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. If a victim of a car accident fails to take any necessary steps, they may lose the right to file a lawsuit against the at fault party. A victim may lose out on thousands of dollars in compensation simply because they failed to take a necessary step after a car accident.
Many may wonder if they should report their car accident to any company or government entity. In California, those who have been involved in a car accident must report their accident to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV is known to be the department that handles all necessary paperwork involving vehicles on the road in California. If you have been involved in a car accident in California, and do not know if you should file any paperwork, contact our top rated car accident attorneys today for a free consultation. During this consultation, we will review all the necessary paperwork involving your claim and determine if your accident is eligible to be reported to the DMV. You must act fast, since the DMV has very strict standards in place. We recommend that you see a car accident attorney after your car accident as soon as possible to avoid any delays in the process.
When should I report my car accident?
In California, those involved in a car accident should report the car accident to the DMV within 10 days.
What type of accident should I report?
The car accident should be reported to the DMV if:
- There was property damage that amounted to $1,000 or more. This refers to the damage your car sustained. For example, if your car’s bumper was damaged, and the cost to repair will most likely be more than $1,000, then you will have to report this accident to the DMV.
- Someone involved in the accident was injured. Even if that person was the at fault party, the accident must still be reported.
- Someone passed away while involved in the accident. If a death resulted from the accident, then it will have to be reported to the DMV.
Who should I report the accident to?
In California, the accident should be reported to the California Department of Motor Vehicles. Immediately after the accident, we recommend that you contact the police department in order to report the accident to the police. When the police arrive at the scene, they will generate a police report that details how the accident happened. It is not required to have a police report written up, but it will help your lawsuit by having documented evidence about the accident.
What happens if I do not report the car accident to the DMV?
If you fail to report the accident to the DMV, you could have your license suspended or an infraction with hefty fines.
Why do I have to report my car accident to the DMV?
The DMV collects all information about drivers on the road in California to maintain safety in the community, and to determine if there are any commercial negligent drivers.
What form do I have to fill out when reporting my car accident to the DMV?
The form is referred to as a form SR1. This could be filed online, or there are also physical copies at any DMV office.
Where does the accident need to occur?
If the accident occurred on public property or on private property, the SR1 form must be filled out with the DMV.
Do I have to report my car accident to my insurance company?
In California, there is no rule that you have to report your car accident to your insurance company. The only requirement is that you report the accident to the DMV. But your insurance contracts may have Its own separate rule that requires you to report the accident.
What are examples of car accidents that should be reported?
- Pedestrian accidents: if a vehicle hit a pedestrian, then it should be reported to the DMV and it is considered an accident even though there is only one vehicle involved
- Vehicles hitting objects: a vehicle that hits another object on the road should be reported to the DMV
- Two car collisions
- Multiple vehicle collisions
Who should report the car accident?
California law requires that all parties that were involved in the accident have to make a report.
Do I have to report the accident to the police?
Under California law, a driver must report the accident to the police if the car accident resulted in any type of body injury or if it caused any deaths.
When must I report the accident to the police?
A car accident report must be made to the police within 24 hours of the accident. To some, this is not enough time, and so we ask that you contact a top-rated car accident attorney as soon as possible after you have been involved in the accident.
Which Police Department should I report the accident to?
If the accident occurred on the freeway, it should be reported to the California Highway Patrol. If the accident occurred on city streets, then it should be reported to the city’s Police Department where the accident occurred.
What if a police officer created a police report?
If you called an officer to arrive at the scene immediately after the accident, and the police officer created a police report, then you do not need to report the accident to a different Police Department. You must still report the accident to the California DMV though.
Do you have any other questions concerning your car accident? Contact our top-rated car accident attorneys today for a free consultation.
Our car accident attorneys at Megeredchian law have been representing car accident victims for years, and have recovered hundreds of millions of dollars for our clients. We also know the different administrative steps you must take when it comes to reporting to different government agencies and departments. Call us today if you have been involved in an accident to determine who you should file a report with.